Recipe Week – Day 4 – Raspberry Vanilla Pops

Standard

Here is a delicious and easy recipe for making raspberry-vanilla popsicles! The recipe was found through the Epicurious app.
*Source Information
From Perfect Pops: The 50 Best Classic & Cool Treats by Charity Ferreira. Text copyright © 2011 by Charity Ferreira

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups frozen raspberries, plus 4 raspberries, halved (optional)
5 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 cups vanilla low-fat or whole-milk yogurt

Directions:
In a blender, purée the 1 1/2 cups raspberries, the sugar, and 1/2 cup yogurt until smooth and thick.

Divide about half of the raspberry mixture equally among ice pop molds. Divide the remaining 1 cup yogurt among the molds. Slide in the halved raspberries (if using). Follow with the remaining raspberry mixture and insert sticks. Freeze until firm, at least 6 hours or up to 1 week.

To unmold the pops, run hot water over the outsides of the molds for a few seconds, then gently pull the sticks.

I used the recipe loosely – I used Greek vanilla yogurt instead and added some blueberries with the raspberries. I completely forgot to add the sugar when I blended them with the yogurt, so that was omitted from my recipe! Oops! Oh well, it made for less calories in the end (one of my pops was about 50 calories). I personally do not think there was enough puree mixture for 8 pops (I was only making 6 and I had to add a lot of yogurt to fill up the molds), so I would suggest making a larger recipe of the popsicle “batter” and play around with the amounts for your popsicle molds. My photos do not match the ones on Epicurious, and I also did not use the halved raspberries to make the pops look fancy in the middle layer, but it was still fun to make them! 🍦

20140724-235049-85849462.jpg

Leave a Reply

