A New Year!

Standard

Happy New Year and welcome to 2015! I am writing this from my couch, holding a glass of wine, and thinking about all of the lesson plans I need to write! Oh well, we had one snow day this week, so I can carry some of my plans into next week. It has been snowing this week here in Cleveland and many schools were off yesterday and today, due to weather. My school was off yesterday but we were back today. The roads were pretty bad, but I made it to work! The temperatures tonight are supposed to drop to negative 20 to negative 30 degrees with the wind chill! Brrr. ❄️⛄️❄️

I want to share a resource from a TPT seller – a FREE – resource that I am about to use with my students. With only 3 days of school this week due to teacher records day and a snow day, we did not have time to squeeze it in, but I look forward to taking the time next week to complete it with my class! They love evaluating themselves and their own work. We frequently graph our math timed test results and our test progress over the course of a unit. The resource is a goal setting worksheet about making New Year’s Resolutions. It is not necessarily about academic work or specific subjects, but that’s what I like about it! I want the students to be able to think about how they want to better themselves in the new year, and reflect upon some goals they can set. I will probably require that at least one of the boxes is related to academics. If you download the resource, you can see four boxes that are flaps that the students cut, to make a type of flap book. I LOVE the cute patterns, too! You can find this awesome freebie here from The Applicious Teacher (love her name, too since my classroom is apple-themed!).

If you are interested in another way to use the cute “2015” flap book, see the pictures I’ve attached! I meant to do this last year but just never got around to it. I saw it on Pinterest and just loved the idea of remembering all of the good times from throughout your year. You display the container in your home and add to it each month, or whenever positive things in your life occur. Then, on New Year’s Eve, you get to go through the bucket and read your collection of memories from the past year! I created my bucket from a simple plastic pretzel container (upcycling!) and I printed the 2015 cover on plain paper, then decorated with highlighters. Printing on colored paper would be fun, too! I’m sure you all can get much more creative than me, but my goal here was to keep things as easy and cheap as possible. I already had the zig-zag chevron index cards, so they were free, but you can find them at any teacher store or probably Target. I look forward to all of the great memories my husband and I will add to our 2015 bucket this year. Can’t wait to write my blog post at the end of the year to reflect on how this went!

Have a great New Year and if you are already back in school, give us some of your teacher tips or a great resource you like to use in this “back to school” time!

2015/01/img_3503.jpg

Leave a Reply

