Recipe Week 2015 #1: Nectarine-Raspberry-Blueberry Crisp

Standard

Let’s start off my 2015 Recipe Week with a new take on an old favorite! You may remember reading about my recipe last year, which was very similar. I included raspberries and nectarines and posted it here as part of the first annual Recipe Week. Well, this year I decided to make a similar recipe found on Pinterest from the blog titled Bakingdom. You can access the recipe here. I will post her recipe below and then I’ll just write about what changes I made to it.

Peach Berry Crumble

Makes one 7×10 or 8×8-inch crumble

Ingredients

FOR THE TOPPING

1 cup (255 grams) brown sugar, packed

2 tablespoons (25 grams) sugar

1 cup (127 grams) all-purpose flour (or GF flour)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick or 113 grams) cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks (use margarine for vegan)

FOR THE FILLING

1 pound (about 454 grams) ripe peaches (about 4), peeled, pitted, and sliced

1 cup (about 160 grams) fresh blueberries

1 cup (about 155 grams) fresh blackberries

1/4 cup (64 grams) brown sugar

1/4 cup (32 grams) all-purpose flour (or GF flour)

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated sugar

2 teaspoons lemon zest

2 tablespoons (30 ml) lemon juice

To make the topping: In a large bowl, combine the brown sugar, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt. Mix the cold butter into the mixture by hand, squeezing the pieces in to mix it.

Cover and freeze while you prepare the filling.

If you’re not using the streusel right away, refrigerate it until ready to use.
To make the filling: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (180 C). Lightly spray a 7×10 or 8×8-inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray (optional).

In a large bowl, combine the sliced peaches, blueberries, and blackberries, tossing gently to mix them evenly.

In another bowl, combine the brown sugar, sugar, flour, and lemon zest until evenly mixed. Stir in the lemon juice until all of the ingredients are wet, and have the consistency of paste.

Add the brown sugar mixture to the fruit, stirring gently with a spatula until everything is evenly coated. Transfer the mixture to the prepared baking dish. Distribute the topping uniformly over the top of the fruit.
Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, until the topping is browned and the juices are bubbling. Allow to cool for at least 15 to 20 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.
The only changes I made were: the fruit choices (I used 4 nectarines, about a half pint of blueberries, and a small bowl of raspberries freshly picked from a friend’s raspberry bush!), the fact that I didn’t measure the lemon zest (I never do, just estimate), and I included a half teaspoon of ground cardamom in the topping. While I liked this recipe more than last year’s, especially the lemon juice and the fact that the recipe was simpler and included less ingredients (no oatmeal needed), I still loved that cardamom flavor from last year’s dish. So that’s why I decided to add it, but you can omit it if you so choose. Also, I would suggest using an oblong dish like Bakingdom’s recipe suggests. Last year I used a square dish but it made the pieces too thick.

If you make this recipe, or a version of it, let us know and post a picture! This dish kept warm very nicely in a travel style bag for food dishes and I took it to my cousin Kim’s 4th of July party.
 

Before pictures: 
  

After picture:


Soon to come! I think it’s on my husband’s phone pictures right now. 

Pictures cannot be found… Hmmm. I guess I forgot to take one and it was so good we ate all of it!

Leave a Reply

