Recipe Week 2015 #4: Summer Squash Casserole

Standard

I followed this recipe last week and made squash casserole for dinner. I have eaten squash before, and I pretty much enjoy all vegetables, but had never cooked with squash personally. For the first time, I think it went very well! The summer squash is from my cousin’s garden, and the recipe is from my Mom-Mom. She had a few squash recipes in her book, but I decided to make this one.
This recipe will feed an army, just as a fair warning! I used it as a side dish and paired it with pan-fried pork chops, so needless to say, when used as a side dish for only two people… We were eating it for the next three or four days!


Summer Squash Casserole

Ingredients:

6 cups yellow squash or yellow zucchini, sliced (I cubed mine and did not measure 6 cups, just used one very large squash)

1/4 cup onion, chopped

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 cup sour cream

1 cup shredded carrots (of half of the bag like I threw in)

1/2 cup margarine, melted 

8 oz. box seasoned stuffing mix (I chose pork flavored since I served it with pork chops; the box was a little smaller than 8 oz. so I used less margarine than it called for too)

Directions:

Cook squash and onion in salted water for 5 minutes. Drain. Combine soup, sour cream, and carrots. Fold into squash mixture. Combine stuffing mix (uncooked, do not prepare it like on the box) and margarine. Spread half of stuffing mix on bottom of 12×7.5×2 pan (I used an oblong glass dish). Spoon on squash mixture. Place remaining stuffing on top. 

*Putting grated cheese on top is optional. Maybe I will try that next time I make it.*

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes.

  

Leave a Reply

