2016 Summer Recipe #3: Mini Egg Omelets

Standard

I adapted this recipe from a post I saw on Facebook. I will include the original recipe if you’d like to follow it. I decided not to use egg whites because I was using the entire egg. Egg whites would make it healthier though, so please adapt it to your liking! If you end up making these, please post a pic in the comments. These mini egg omelets are great for reheating in the microwave on a busy morning, for a quick hot breakfast when you’re rushing around. I plan to make a batch a couple times a month on the weekends to keep in the fridge for our busy mornings once school starts!

 

Ingredients:

  • 9 eggs
  • Sriracha hot sauce (amount is up to you, or omit it completely)
  • shredded cheese (your choice)
  • variety of mix-ins: choices could be baby spinach, chopped onion, red pepper, chopped jalapeño, chopped ham or bacon, chopped mushrooms, etc. For this batch, I decided to use what I had on hand – frozen sausage, an onion, and a red pepper.

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Choose your ingredients and chop/prepare. For me, this meant having the sausage thawed from the freezer, and then I cooked it in a pan and chopped it once it was cool. I also diced the onion and the red pepper had been chopped the day before.
  3. Spray a muffin tin and then add chopped ingredients to each cup in the tin.
  4. Gently beat 9 eggs and hot sauce in a bowl, then pour into each cup.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes.
  6. Immediately remove each mini egg omelet (I use a tiny spatula which is awesome) and let it cool on a cooling rack. Once they are cool, you can store them in the fridge sealed in a ziploc bag. To reheat later, just microwave for 1 minute.

What I found online from a friend.

“Before” pic.


“After” pic.

Leave a Reply

