2016 Summer Recipe #6 Corn & Sausage Chowder

Standard

The summer is winding down and we are getting dangerously close to school starting again! For recipe #6 this summer, I decided to blog about a recipe I made a few months ago that I never got around to sharing! I remember having some corn and potatoes in my fridge and freezer, and wondering what I could do with them. A soup, or in this case chowder, was perfect, so I consulted Pinterest and found this recipe from the blogger Recipe Boy
Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. smoked sausage, halved and sliced (I just get Hillshire Farms or similar brand)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cups water
  • 3 cups diced potato (I may have used Yukon gold but at this point I honestly have forgotten!)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley (I always opt for dried, check the amount as it will require less)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil (ditto above, or omit)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • One can whole kernel corn
  • One can creamed corn
  • One can 2% evaporated milk

Directions:

  1. Brown the sausage and onion in a large soup pot over medium heat.
  2. Add water, potatoes, spices, and herbs. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook for 15 min approximately.
  3. Add corn and milk, and heat for another 5 min or so. Enjoy!

  

 
 

Leave a Reply

